Fellowships, awards and honors:

  • Rothschild Fellowship for Ph.D. Studies, 1980-1981
  • The TAUB Award in Computer Science, 1989-1990
  • Theeman Travel Grant of the Australian Technion Society for a Professional Visit to Australian Universities, 1992
  • Honorable Mention of the Pattern Recognition Society for an Outstanding Contribution to the Pattern Recognition Journal (for the paper Probabilistic Hough Transform with N. Kiryati), 1992
  • The Hershel Rich Technion Innovation Award jointly with Dr. Yachin Pnueli for the development of DigiDURER, a Digital Engraving System, 1993.
  • The paper “Why the Ant Trails Look so Straight and Nice” selected as a “Top Science Story in 1993” by DISCOVER Magazine, in the field of Mathematics. The paper was also reviewed in SCIENCE Magazine and in the NEW SCIENTIST (with full page review devoted to it, authored by Prof. Ian Stewart) and several other journals and newspapers worldwide during, 1994
  • The Hershel Rich Technion Innovation Award , jointly with Adi Bar-Lev and Prof. Gershon Elber, for the development of Virtual Marionettes, a Computerized Marionette Theater System, 2002
  • SIAM Fellow,  for contributions to Signal and Image Processing and Ant Robotics, 2014
  • SIAG/Imaging Science Prize 2014 (for the paper “From Sparse Solutions of Systems of Equations to Sparse Modeling of Signals and Images” with David Donoho and Michael Elad), 2014
  • 2018 Doctor Honoris Causa of Agora University, Oradea, Romania, 2018
  • 2018 IEEE Signal Processing Society Sustained Impact Paper Award (for the paper “K-SVD: An Algorithm for Designing Overcomplete Dictionaries for Sparse Representation” with Michal Aharon and Michael Elad), 2018